Citizens Bank Park

Photo on left: View from behind the plate on a sunny, Sunday afternoon

Photo on right: My seat, which was in prime foul ball territory.

 

Stadium Name: Citizens Bank Park

Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Team: Philadelphia Phillies

Stadium Rating: B

First Game: April 9, 2017, Phillies – 4, Nationals – 3

 

After checking out the park in Baltimore, I took the Amtrak the following morning to Philadelphia (this was an excessively busy trip for a weekend), where I toured a little bit of downtown before heading to the ballpark.

As a lifelong Atlanta Braves fan, I’ll be honest, I had no good expectation of the Phillies ballpark. Built in the early 2000s, I really didn’t think there was anything special about it, other than that it was built right next to the basketball and football stadiums (which makes for a convenient trip if hitting two games in a day).

On this shiny, Sunday afternoon, I was pleasantly surprised.

After grabbing a cheesesteak (had to, it was Philly after all), I took in a wonderful stadium. Hardly a cloud in the sky, the Phillies took on the Washington Nationals to wrap up the series. While I was thinking about how much time I needed to catch my flight home that night, I watched from down the 1st base line and was just constantly amazed at how baseball really does change at each park.

There was nothing inherently “special,” and I use that term loosely, about Citizens Bank Park. It was just a great place to see a game. Pretty much the same way I described Oriole Park at Camden Yards – in that it just had the “it” factor of being a great place to see a game.

They also had a cool hall of fame walkthrough in center field, a node to their past parks and big moments. For example Hank Aaron, the all-time leader in home runs, hit his only inside the park home run in his entire career at Connie Mack Stadium, which the Phillies occupied from 1909-1976.

Out of the 11 parks I’ve been to so far, Citizens Bank Park falls right into the middle, but that’s not a slight at all. I’m quickly realizing how nice each individual park is, and what a cool dream I’m going for.

  1. Wrigley Field (Chicago Cubs – Chicago, IL)
  2. PNC Park (Pittsburgh Pirates – Pittsburgh, PA)
  3. Minute Maid Park (Houston Astros – Houston, TX)
  4. Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore Orioles – Baltimore, MD)
  5. Coors Field (Colorado Rockies – Denver, CO)
  6. Citizens Bank Park (Philadelphia Phillies – Philadelphia, PA)
  7. Ballpark in Arlington (Texas Rangers – Arlington, TX)
  8. Miller Park (Milwaukee Brewers – Milwaukee, WI)
  9. Chase Field (Arizona Diamondbacks – Phoenix, AZ)
  10. Busch Stadium (Saint Louis Cardinals – Saint Louis, Missouri)
  11. Guaranteed Rate Stadium (Chicago White Sox, Chicago, IL)
Leave a Reply

